was successfully added to your cart.

iOSSmartphonesTips & Tricks

What to do When Selling an iPhone

By February 9, 2016 No Comments

If you’ve decided to sell your phone, regardless of the reason, there are a few things to keep in mind. For starters, it’s important to know before selling your iPhone that you need clear all of your personal data off of it. If you don’t, the next owner may have access to everything from your birthday to your credit card accounts.

How to Clear an iPhone Before Selling It

When you go to wipe your iPhone before selling it, you’ll find the process a fairly simple one. Before clearing off the data, though, you’ll need to back up whatever you want to save, including your photos, contacts, and music. A simple backup off the phone can save all of your information onto your computer, allowing you to easily upload the data onto your new phone.

Please keep in mind that you don’t want to manually erase the data from your phone. Doing so will also erase it from iCloud, which would permanently delete your data. Instead, you’ll want to sign out of iCloud on your phone by going to:

  • Settings > iCloud > Sign Out
  • Then, go back to: Settings > General > Reset > Erase All Content and Settings (you may or may not need to enter your password).

It’s imperative that you know how to erase iPhone before selling it. If you don’t, you may end up selling your phone to someone who misuses the data that’s on it. For example, if you have your PayPal account synced with the phone and you don’t erase the data stored in the PayPal application, then the person you sell the phone to could actually log in to your PayPal account and make purchases using your information.

Knowing How to Reset iPhone Before Selling It

Not only should you erase the data on the iPhone before selling it, but you should also know how to reset the phone to its factory settings. This will help ensure that none of your data is left on the phone. You should make sure that all the pertinent data you want to keep has been synced with iCloud before doing the reset. Once the reset has taken place, there’s no way to get any of the data back. To perform a factory reset on your iPhone, simply hold down the Home button on the iPhone while also holding down the Power button. You’ll need to hold both buttons down at the same time for about 10 seconds. You’ll then be presented with a screen asking if you want to perform a factory reset.

Regardless of the data you have stored on your iPhone, performing a backup of the data and resetting your phone should be viewed as a necessity before selling it.